Tuesday, 11 December 2012 00:00
54 Hits

iPhone 5 hit 16 African countries in December

Tech giant Apple has announced that it plans to officially debut the iPhone 5 in 16 African countries this month, as part of its worldwide roll out.

Over 50 countries are set to join the current 47 nations, such as the US, which are already officially selling the device.

South Africa is expected to start officially selling the iPhone 5 on December 14, along with nations such as Brazil, China and Turkey.

On December 21, the iPhone 5 will also be available in African nations such as Botswana, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Egypt, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Niger, Senegal, Tunisia and Uganda.

Other nations across the globe that are planned to have the device by this date include the likes of Vietnam and Barbados.

The iPhone 5 was unveiled in September this year, sporting a bigger screen, thinner form factor and improved operating system.